SuiteBundler: What does the “Dissolve” option mean?

The “Dissolve” option in SuiteBundler is probably an underrated yet useful SuiteBundler feature in certain occasions. If you’re not familiar with this, you can find it in Customization > SuiteBundler > Installed Bundle > List > Cog icon > Dissolve.

suitebundler-dissolve-button

Recently, I came across a scenario where I was updating a client’s workflow using a bundle. Long story short, when I tried to update the workflow, the old copy of the workflow appeared as “Delete” under Action. That’s certainly not what I wanted to happen.

I then remembered the “Dissolve” feature that was introduced last 2013 for SuiteBundler. What it does is it retains the objects added by the bundle and removes the objects’ association with the bundle. It keeps the objects as if it were created from the Production account and did not originate from a bundle.

I was thankful for this feature because it fit my scenario perfectly. I was able to retain the old workflow and added the new ones to Production without losing anything.

To give you an idea of how it works, here are some screenshots from my simple test.

suitebundler-workflow-from-bundle
This is a screenshot of the Installed Bundle list where you will see that “Test Workflow” is part of bundle 250658. 
suitebundler-bundle-preview
Upon clicking on “Dissolve”, it will show you the object to be retained.
suitebundler-no-bundle
After successfully dissolving the bundle, notice that the “Test Workflow” does not reflect any associated bundles. 

Hope this helps you in some way. Feel free to reach out through the Contact form if you have any questions.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s